the OPEN SPACE
5 min readJul 24, 2020

I like you versus I love you

There have been series of messages circulating online, especially on WhatsApp, speculating, rather explaining the meanings and uses of the 1001 emojis we find ourselves using these days on Social Media and Instant Messaging Apps. Amongst these numerous emojis, a group stands out: the Heart emojis collection. It's funny how people take out time to explain and analyse these things because for matters of precision, it'll be wrong to give off the wrong feeling or intention towards someone.

I’ve always wondered what difference there is between an emoji and emoticon. If you were like me, then understand that an emoticon is a smiley that contains characters on your keyboard while an emoji is a graphical represention in cartoon-like figures. Why’s there a sudden interest in these emojis? Because I find it beautiful and doubtful why people should take out time to explain their meanings. According to these messages, some of the emojis represent:

❤ Red Heart
The red heart is the classical symbol of love. Expression of passion and romance. But also in the non-romantic context for friendship and strong bonds.

🧡 Orange Heart
The heart shape is the symbol of love. The orange heart may represent a half-hearted love or you do not want to have a relationship but just be friends.

💛 Yellow Heart
A heart of gold. Represents cordial love and purity of the heart. Not so much in the romantic context, but rather for happiness, friendship and the joy of life.

💚 Green Heart
Expression of life or lifestyle (e.g. healthy diet) and closeness to nature. Also known as the jealous heart, it may indicate relationship issues or the hope for reconciliation. Often used on the Irish St. Patrick's Day.

💙 Blue Heart
I have full confidence in you! Represents platonic love, faithfulness, loyalty and friendship. But also: support of the awareness of autism, love of water sports or expression of a fetish.

💜 Purple Heart
Expression of understanding and compassionate love. Represents affection and care. For Mother's Day or in messages between parents and children. Used by fashion-conscious people or celebrities as an expression of glamor or wealth. In the US, military medal for wounded soldiers.

🖤 Black Heart
The black heart shows a dark and twisted sense of humor. It can reflect the dark side of the soul. Also used to express grief and sorrow.

💔 Broken Heart
I am desperately unhappy! The broken red heart expresses sadness and suffering. Someone is love sick at the moment.

❣ Heavy Heart Exclamation Mark Ornament
I totally agree with that! A heart with a dot below forms a decorative exclamation mark. This gesture comes from the heart and emphasizes that you really like something or someone.

💕 Two Hearts
Love is in the air! Not so much in the passionate context, but rather a decoration. In romantic texts an expression of affection for someone or friendships among girls.

💞 Revolving Hearts
Two hearts circling around each other represent the love between two persons. Someone wants to win your heart.

💓 Beating Heart
I love you so much! The beating heart symbolizes a strong connection and expresses strong feelings for someone or something. Is also a symbol of life: A baby is on the way.

💗 Growing Heart
The three hearts in one another are to convey an ever-growing heart. The feelings are getting deeper and deeper, the love is growing. The heartbeat increases and the heart is filled with joy after an emotional conversation or a great experience.

💖 Sparkling Heart
You are simply great! A sparkling heart means someone is doting on you. Persistence will be rewarded now!

💘 Heart With Arrow
Cupid's arrow hit you - you're hopelessly in love! Expresses romantic feelings in messages. Often used around Valentine's Day.

💝 Heart With Ribbon
You have my love. The box in a heart shape with a ribbon could contain chocolates or jewelry. Popular on Valentine's Day or on birthdays. Or someone gives you his heart.

💟 Heart Decoration
A decorative variation of the heart symbol. Stands for love, attention and affection of your conversation partner.

Why is there so much emphasis on the emojis? That’s because emojis, especially the heart ones have become a constant way of showing affection and emotions through messaging. Which brings me to our topic of today. What’s the difference between I like you and I love you?

While in primary school, our teacher taught us one thing; that people were to be loved and articles and attributes liked. That was the basis of our English compositions; "Write an essay on the things you like and dislike about your friend, brother or mother". And that was it. But what's the true difference between the words "to like" and "to love"? Well... I'm sure you already have a little idea of your own and if not, I'll just let you figure it out.

“I like you” has become a colloquialism for “I love you” or to put it in a much stricter sense, a less grave way of saying “I love you” or “I want to be with you”. People who get into relationships nowadays seldom use the "I love you" expression partly because they don’t want to come out looking vulnerable or because they’re not sure if they like the person enough to love them. But one thing remains certain in our daily lives and that is the fact that "I like you" has been used to mean I love spending time with you and "I love you" to something much more like I am in love with you. I want you to be a part of my life( in a much deeper way.)

Just like the heart emojis, these expressions have transcended meaning and one might totally look like a fool if he decides to use I love you with just anyone. Because in today's society, there's nothing more secure than securing your heart in a carapace that none, not even yourself can break. Because as the saying goes, it is better to fall into a hole and break my leg than to fall in love and break my heart. So if I can deny myself of such wonderful sentiments, then just maybe, I can live sans feeling of vulnerability.

But “I like” still relates more to objects and attributes while “I love” refers to humans. Maybe I am wrong. Maybe it’s the society. But for the sake of clarity of colloquialism, let’s accept the vulgarization of expressions and emotions.

Reference: www.emojimeanings.net

the OPEN SPACE

Learning to love the journey more than the destination - learning to love the cake more than the icing